Crochet Vs. Knit

When I first decided to get crafty, I asked my Facebook friends, “Which is easier—crocheting or knitting?” Of course, the answers were split down the middle.

I chose to knit, not because people told me it was easier, but because I know several people who are incredible crocheters (also known as hookers, but I am not comfortable calling them that, ha!) and I felt that I could never be as good as them. Good motivation really isn’t my strong suit, but I am working on it. I started knitting and then got curious about crocheting, so I decided to give the latter a try.

Eight months later, here is my opinion:

Everyone can crochet, and anyone can knit. It just depends on your amount of free time and the strength of your wrists. I can crochet all day, but knitting makes my wrists hurt after an hour or so. Knitting takes me a long time, but I can crochet a project in one setting (depending on the project, obviously). There are some projects that you should knit because they just look better and the same with crochet.

Give both a try. Knitting needles and crochet hooks are not expensive, so buy or borrow both and see what fits you best. Just a tip—the smaller the needle/hook, the more difficult it can be for beginners. You might want to go for a medium or large size, unless you want to be an overachiever and work out your frustrations right away.  Also, don’t try to complete a pattern at first. Learn the lingo (single crochet, half-double crochet, knit, purl, etc.) and practice each stitch until you are comfortable. I tried a Mary-Jane knit bootie for my first real project, back when I barely knew the difference between knit and purl. It was quite the ordeal.

baby shoe
T
his shoe looks innocent, but she was very mean to me.
Consequently, she now lives in my craft box without a matching friend.

Find what you love doing. I love crocheting, and I like knitting, so I do a lot of crocheting and a little bit of knitting (just to keep things spicy).

-Jenny

Leave a Reply

