Baby Gift Set

Sometimes I finish a project and find myself with an awkward amount of leftover yarn. It was perfect for my particular project but not really for anything else. I don’t want to be wasteful and throw it away, so it ends up in my yarn bin, doing absolutely nothing.

Yesterday, I found some yarn left over from a baby sweater and decided to put it to good use. I had a few small patterns that I wanted to try out, and at the end, I had created a sweet, easy baby gift set.

IMG_1602
What are three things that every baby needs? Hat, mittens, and bib. Each piece was super simple. The bib and mitten patterns came from a library book, and the hat came from Repeat Crafter Me’s Minnie Mouse Hat. (You can use any beanie pattern–I just happened to have that one out. Obviously, I did not add the ears.) I used I Love This Yarn in a green/blue striped pattern (that I cannot remember the name of) and navy for the trim.

IMG_1603 IMG_1604
I love this bib because it is soft and big and the perfect accessory for protecting clothes from drool and food (although major messes might seep through the holes). All you need is a little bit of yarn and a button.

IMG_1607
All newborn babies wear hats, and most of them need mittens to prevent scratches from those incredible sharp devices called baby fingernails.

If you need to whip up a quick baby shower gift, this is the perfect go-to set. (Not to mention a great way to start eating away your yarn stash). These colors are for a little boy, but you could easily substitute neutral or girly colors.

I even had enough yarn left over to make one more beanie, which will be featured in the next entry. (Spoiler alert-it comes with a baby beard.) Manchester sends his love.
IMG_1452

-Jenny

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

