Quick Newborn Mittens

I am now an auntie. It is  the greatest thing EVER (well, besides being married to Chase).

Baby Nephew Love (also known as Decker) is perfect. He kept us waiting a few extra days AND decided that he wasn’t ready to arrive until the wee hours of the morning. I could barely contain my excitement…

waitingroom
(and this was only an hour or so into the waiting process…)

Then he finally arrived!  Decker was born with a full head of hair and finger nails that could double as samurai swords. I didn’t even think to bring baby gloves. The next day, my sister in-law’s brother in-law (or my husband’s brother’s wife’s sister’s husband) joked that I should make some on the spot. Obviously I had yarn with me because I am that person, so I took on the challenge.

I found this super easy pattern on Pinterest thanks to HodgePodge Crochet. I think Jesus knew Decker would need some mittens because I just so happen to have the right hook (size D) and some super soft white cotton yarn (I Love This Cotton). I whipped them up in about 30 minutes. I left off the final round because he is just a tiny baby with tiny hands.

newborn gloves

Decker seemed a bit indifferent to the gloves, and that’s okay. Just wait until winter comes–he will have a full yarn-based wardrobe.

Auntie J loves you, little one. I am so glad you are finally here.

Leave a Reply

